top of page



GOPIO Qld Chapter is pleased to announce our new committee members elected to serve our organisation. We welcome on board our new team:






Dr Maha Sinnathamby AM

Maha Sinnathamby is an Australian businessman and property developer. He is the entrepreneur behind the Greater Springfield Development in Queensland, the largest master-planned community in Australia . He has been associated with GOPIO International  for a long time , and helped launch GOPIO Queensland 


Immediate Past President 


Rakesh Sharma - has been a founder member of GOPIO Queensland , he was instrumental in the first Asia Pacific Conference during which GOPIO Qld was inaugurated  , Rakesh Sharma has been the president of Laxmi Narayan Mandir - during his term he undertook major infrastructure development for Hindu Mandir Association. He has been part of GOPIO Queensland management  and has handled many important aspects of India Day Fair . He serves on the management committee of Radio 4EB's Indian Programming group where he is a presenter . He brings his business and investment expertise to the table .

Prasad Yarlagadda_edited_edited.jpg


Prof. Prasad Yarlagadda worked as an academic and Researcher in industry and universities for over twenty two years in a number of organisations in India, Hong Kong, Singapore, Papua New Guinea and Australia. He is working as Professor in Smart Systems in the School of Engineering Systems at Queensland University of Technology, Australia. Currently he is also Director, Smart Systems Research Theme in the Faculty of Built Environment and Engineering. He is Fellow of Institution of Engineers, Australia, Fellow of Institution of Engineers, India, Senior member of Society Manufacturing Engineers, USA, Member of Institution of Mechanical Engineers, UK, Member of American Society of Mechanical Engineers, USA, and number of other professional organisations around the world. Over last two decades he published over 200 research publications in various international journals and conference proceedings, edited number of conference proceedings and special issues of international journals and attracted significant amount research funding from government and industry agencies.


Vice President

Arpit Singh An experienced and qualified finance professional, who likes to take challenging roles and deliver outstanding results. Attained Master’s Degree focused in International Economics and Finance from The University of Queensland, & currently working in the Australian Residential Lending industry while also running own outsourcing business. Arpit has held various roles in GOPIO Queensland - previously served in the youth Council 




Irene Balydon Former General Secretary Duties of a Community Radio Station, which also included presiding over and assisting 8 of the 52 groups, and attending their AGM's.
Representing EBAQ as the Queensland representative on Board of NEMBC also Qld Women's Rep on the Women's Council. Has been associated with GOPIO Qld for a number of years


Assistant Secretary


Rani Sharma , served in Government services , now serving as assistant secretary of GOPIO Queensland , she is a silent achiever and dedicated worker who has always been there discharging her duties diligently.


 Acting Treasurer GOPIO Qld  

Sahil Sinha

Sahil Sinha, an acting Treasurer of GOPIO Queensland .



Jyoti Sharma


Chairperson Business council chair 

Umesh Chandra  OAM - - Member, Board of Trustees GOPIO Qld 

Founder President , launched GOPIO Qld , President of Queensland Multicultural  Council ,Has held various position on GOPIO International , mentor to many GOPIO Chapters Worldwide , serves on Lord Mayors round table  and is a multicultural adviser  to Commissioner of police , Patron of various community Organisations , 




Chairperson Youth Council  and PR team


Mayuresh Lande   has been associated with GOPIO Queensland for a while , he is a valuable member as a IT professional , helps with AV for most of GOPIO  functions looks after youth Volunteers at India Day Fair 



Women Council's Chair, Sponsorship and events

Usha Chandra -  Usha Chandra has been a power house assisting GOPIO Qld in many roles - and as one of the past Presidents , she handles the sponsorship and has good working relation with many function venues and suppliers 

bottom of page